ECOWAS Move Against Terrorism, To Deploy Standby Force

Adoga Stephen By Adoga Stephen - Editor-In-Chief
3 Min Read

Leaders of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have established a mechanism to review efforts in activating a standby force for counterterrorism operations, particularly in areas heavily affected by terrorist groups.

This decision was made at the conclusion of the 64th ordinary session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS in Abuja on Sunday.

Dr. Omar Touray, President of the ECOWAS Commission, emphasized in a statement that the leaders reaffirmed their dedication to eliminating terrorism and other challenges to peace, security, and stability in the region.

In addition to this, ECOWAS has decided to organize a special summit to address the issue of unconstitutional changes of government, with the goal of promoting peace, security, and democracy.

They have instructed the Commission to carefully consider this matter and investigate the feasibility of arranging the extraordinary summit.

In order to achieve this goal, the ECOWAS Heads of State and Government Authority, led by President Bola Tinubu, formed a committee of Heads of State to communicate with the military junta in Niger Republic. The purpose of this engagement is to discuss the importance of a brief transition plan and the implementation of monitoring systems.

Additionally, they decided to gradually reduce the sanctions imposed on Niger Republic depending on the results of these discussions. It was stressed that the immediate and unconditional release of President Mohammed Bazoum, who is currently detained, is of utmost importance.

ECOWAS has expressed its condemnation of the ongoing detention of President Mohammed Bazoum, his family, and associates by the military junta.

The Authority has expressed its concern over the junta’s failure to demonstrate a commitment to restoring constitutional order.

“We call on the CMSP to release President Mohammed Bazoum, his family, and associates immediately without precondition.

“We resolved to set up a committee of Heads of State made up of the President and Head of State of the Republic of Togo, the President and the Head of State of the Republic of Sierra Leone, the President and Head of State of the Republic of Benin, to engage with the CMSP and other stakeholders with a view to agreeing on a short transition roadmap, establishing transition organs as well as facilitating the setting up of a transition monitoring and evaluation mechanism towards this speedy restoration of constitutional order,” the communique added.

Share This Article
By Adoga Stephen Editor-In-Chief
Stephen studied Mass Communication at the Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu (now Lagos State University of Science and Technology), where he acquired requisite training for the practice of journalism. He loves the media, and his interest mostly lies in print medium, where his creative writing skill makes him a perfect fit.