ADP, LP Win Senate, Reps Rerun Elections In Plateau

Adoga Stephen By Adoga Stephen - Editor-In-Chief
2 Min Read

Daniel Asama, the candidate of the Labour Party (LP), has emerged as the winner of the House of Representatives rerun election for Jos North/Bassa Federal Constituency, which took place last Saturday.

The Returning Officer, Prof. James Garba, announced Asama as the victor after he received 66,422 votes, surpassing his closest competitor, Mohammed Gwani of the Peoples Redemption Party, who obtained 61,670 votes.

Additionally, Prince Pam Mwadkon Dachungyang, the candidate of the Action Democratic Party (ADP), has been declared the winner of the Plateau North senatorial rerun election.

The results of the senatorial rerun election were announced by the Returning Officer, Prof. Nestor Chagok, in the early hours of Monday.

Prince Dachungyang of the ADP emerged as the winner with 122,442 votes, defeating his closest rival, Yakub Muhammad Safiu of the NNPP, who received 53,980 votes. Christopher Musa Giwa of the APC secured 39,132 votes, while Barr. Gyang Zi of the LP obtained 33,243 votes.

It is worth noting that last year, the Court of Appeal in Abuja nullified the election of PDP’s Musa Agah and Sen.

Simon Mwadkon, and ordered a rerun election to be conducted within 90 days. As a result of this judgment, the PDP was not included on the ballot paper by INEC.

Share This Article
By Adoga Stephen Editor-In-Chief
Stephen studied Mass Communication at the Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu (now Lagos State University of Science and Technology), where he acquired requisite training for the practice of journalism. He loves the media, and his interest mostly lies in print medium, where his creative writing skill makes him a perfect fit.